EASTER CELEBRATION

EASTER SUNDAY, 2012,WHAT A BEAUTIFUL DAY! I LIVE JUST A FEW BLOCKS AWAY FROM THE NEATEST CHURCH. AGAIN, I LOVE THE TALENT, THE MUSIC. OH I LISTEN TO THE SPECIAL PASTORS TOO AND THEIR IMPORTANT MESSAGES: “LET’S CELEBRATE THIS HEAVENLY DAY AND NEVER GIVE UP BECAUSE GOD NEVER GIVES UP ON US!”

But I sure do love the music. We sing spiritual music karaoke style. We’ve probably got the best piano player, musicians, vocalists and youth choir in town. I know I missed out on all those years I didn’t walk down the street on Sundays to the Methodist Church in Kewanna where I lived for so long or the Baptist church. My sweet neighbor, Tammy, was always inviting me. There were many friendly folks at those churches in town there too. But I worked a lot on weekends and I had gotten discouraged once because for three years I enjoyed a certain church and the friendliest, most caring, best storyteller Pastor, EDWIN LACY, you’d ever want to meet and then sure enough, he got transferred.

I didn’t want to get attached again. But, like my third grade teacher said once, “There’s a time and a place for everything.” So, I felt it was tme to get back into the societal spiritual groove. I’M GLAD THE F.U.M.C. WAS THERE FOR ME.

A PEACEFUL MORNING, SPIRITUAL CONNECTIONS AND ABUNDANT GRATITUDES, LIFE SPARKLED AND ALL WAS WELL WITHIN. THE LOVE OF FAMILY, FRIENDS TOO, WHAT MORE COULD I ASK FOR? Oh, maybe a visit from “Harvey,” or some other mystical bunny, maybe the one and only EASTER BUNNY! I SURMISED THAT A SPECIAL TREAT OF CHOCOLATE MARSHMELLOW BUNNIES WOULD HAVE TO DO. HOW DELICIOUS!

On Monday, I travelled to Kokomo, Indiana since I had a Doctor’s appointment with my rheumatolgist. Great, productive visit with one of the best doctors in the world. I got to meet the friendly, new Nurse Practitioner too this time.

On my way back home, since it was right on the way, I stopped and visited some very special friends. A lot of changes have taken place over there at MMM nursing home in Plymouth where I worked for so many years. I love the wooden floors! But some things never change, like the hard-working staff members and challenged residents toughing it out day by day, trying to make the most of things. It was great to see “Smiley” Nancy there sitting at the front desk greeting everyone, Cindy, doing her thing, “developing” staff members and Wendy taking care of business with such a friendly touch. One nurse I knew said she was about ready to retire and I told her, “I thought you’d stick around forever, so when I check in to live here someday, you’d still be here!” But she said, “No, it’s time to go.” I certainly understood.

A short walk over to the next unit and there sat another friendly familiar face, another dedicated nurse doing her thing. My visit to the Alzheimer’s Unit was, needless to say, a “bit” sentimental. I guess I just missed my friend Sherri, but the nurse on duty and CNAs let me visit and clued me in on who still worked there. I sat and chatted with a few favorite residents who were like family to me for so long. I didn’t ask about the ones I didn’t see. I know a few of them were on other units now, but some seemed to be missing. I just like to think of them as still walking up and down the halls of the Unit, keeping everything lively.

BACK HOME AGAIN TO WORK ON MY LITERARY ADVENTURES, THE WEBSITE. IT’S OVERWHELMING BUT FUN. SIGNING OFF FOR NOW. UNTIL THAT TIME. BEST WISHES, GG.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

