UPDATE BLOG ON HALLOWEEN, 2012

I’ll bet David Letterman and Jimmy Fallon would have welcomed white, scary ghosts or frightening goblins to sit in their audiences on Monday.  You know there is something drastically wrong in America when these famous comedians have to sit there and tell jokes to empty chairs and a limited number of staff employees. But I’m sure they thought, “The show must go on,” even amid the worst storm ever, ever to cause havoc and wreck the “normality” of so many millions of people.  At least eventual sunshine and stories about survivors and heroes follow any storm of madness and destruction. Wellness hugs and prayers to all those who will be in the recovery mode for a long time.

Now for my literary update. I sent off two poems to a winningwriters.com contest.  I did not win with my short story entries, maybe I’ll win with a poem. One poem is titled, Awesome Aussie Storyteller.  It’s about a true-life character and great storyteller, an Australian named Gary, who bicycled across the United States with me and ten others in the year 2003.  The other poem is about one of my heroes.  It’s short and to the point. Take a look.

A HERO’S VISION

I am deaf, but I can hear.

I am silent, but I can speak.

I am blind, but I can see,

perchance more clearly than you.

The main literary project, the ebook version of New Jack Rabbit City, is nearing the finish line.  Within a week, it will be off to my editor, a talented writer friend; then I and my co-author will spend a few days polishing up the story after the editor returns it with any advice and/or changes noted for us.  I had told one particular agent and one particular publisher I met at the Chicago Writer’s Conference that this project needed another month or two of work, but then I’d send it off for them to look at.  So that’s exactly what I plan to do.

In the meantime, Michael, my co-author, is studying how to format and upload an ebook to Amazon.com so it will look great/appropriate as downloaded to any App device. Ebooks are kind of tricky to format correctly.  We also have our internet sites which will continue to promote the book, our tall, talking rabbit tale as well as the original songs.  Check it out at: www.newjackrabbitcity.com  or www.newjackrabbitcity.podomatic.com.

Hey, I can’t wait for Easter!  The rabbits really come out at Easter time.  So will our characters!

One more thing, I’ve got to run off to Wendy’s.  It’s a perfect day for a warm bowl of delicious chili.  I’ll sit there and write up my latest Best Ten List: Signs That Indicate  a Writer has Found a Good Editor.  Then I’ll come back here and type it in, so I can share it with you. Okay, BREAK.

BEST TEN LIST:

 

Signs That Indicate a Writer Has Found a Good Editor

  1. The editor is flexible and accepts closer to what the writer can afford to pay, rather than what is demanded or what an editor is worth.
  1. The editor does more than was ever asked for, or expected.
  1. The editor constantly reminds the writer to show, describe, not just tell.
  1. The editor helps with great ideas regarding story development and a better plot.
  1. The editor doesn’t go on vacation or out of town too often, and warns a client if/when it is the case.
  1. A good editor tells you honestly what he/she thinks, what is liked and disliked, or what doesn’t seem to work.
  1. The editor accepts it well when you tell him/her that you’ll take what advice is liked, and leave the rest.  What you want to hear from the editor is, “It’s your story.  I’m just giving you suggestions.”
  1. The editor constantly points out punctuation and formatting errors, so a writer can finally learn to get it right.
  1. Advice tips come from an editor who is writing a far out, imaginative story himself/herself, and you know the editor gets it, sees the merit and potential in a hard to believe fairytale.

AND THE NUMBER ONE SIGN THAT INDICATES A WRITER HAS FOUND A GOOD EDITOR IS:

  1. The editor calmly shrugs his/her shoulders and says again, “It’s your story,” when you just say “no” to advice regarding intensifying the story by killing off a couple of beloved characters. (In my case it was: “A couple of bunnies have to die.”)  I said, “No, nobody’s dying in my story,” and again my editor was just fine with that.  My editor had me laughing too, and that, certainly, is another great attribute to look for, so write-on and thank God for good editors! GG
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

