ARE WE THERE YET?

NOTE: Date correction is November 3o, 2012 (9:20P.M.) Blog Entry

To answer the question, no, we’re not there yet, but almost.  Today I finished a final draft of the story I and a co-writer have been working on, New Jack Rabbit City: Starring the Chicago Hares.  Our editor did a fine job of fine-tuning it and I did some final tweaks, now it’s off to Michael so he can add the graphics.  The plan is to utilize that both/and approach.  He will format it for an e-book and off to the Amazon.com pathway we go.

But I’m also preparing a query letter for Chicago contacts.  One is an agent and one is a publisher, both very interesting and big on the idea of e-publishing.  Since NJRC does star the Chicago hares and other windy city tidbits which are weaved into the story,  I’m sure will peak regional interest. A good example is this excerpt from one of the songs:

“The Chicago hares moved west ya see.

Jack Rabbit City’s the place to be.

Left the South Side, wild side,

the Loop and Lakes Shore Drive.

that one and only skyline.

But Idaho’s workin’ out for us.

It’s all turnin’ out just fine.”

This story was so much fun to work on!  I’d say it was also one of the most difficult literary projects I’ve sunk my heart and soul into.  I’m telling you, if I were an agent or publisher, I’d sure be giving the authors a call.  Not only that, but I’d make sure this beautiful, uplifting fairytale story got its chance to excel, the way it should. Hopefully, some agent and/or publisher will do just that.  It’d be nice to stick with someone from Chicago, but like I’ve said before, why think in a limited visionary way.  All we have to do is get somebody to pay attention. I hope it’s sooner, rather than later. (Just a warning, it’s usually later, but it’s as good as any very cool story out there, so no reason to give up.) Time will tell.

Just one final note—I had a terrific Thanksgiving and I am so absolutely grateful for everything.  And I cannot wait for snowflakes and Christmas.  “Jingle Bells, Jingle Bells, Jingle All the Way….”  New poem I wrote too…Think of the tune, UNDER the Boardwalk by Otis Redding.

ABOVE THE BOARDWALK

Above the Bard Boardwalk,

we’ll be making poems rhyme.

Above the Bard Boardwalk,

we’ll be spending some time.

Above the Boardwalk, Boardwalk.

Talk the talk, walk the walk.

Plank by plank, don’t stop.

Come out from down under,

and stay on top.

Above the Boardwalk, Boardwalk.

Weave words into poetic emotions.

Capture and release, heartfelt devotions.

Poet you are, poet you’ll stay.

You’ll find a way, you’ll find a way.

Above the Boardwalk, Boardwalk.

Come sunshine, rain, or freezing snow.

It’s a destiny all poets’ know.

To rhyme or not to rhyme,

To be a poet who finds the time—

To dwell inward and talk the talk,

walk the walk.

Above the Boardwalk, Boardwalk.

© GG, 2012

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

